Claims that you didn’t want to hurt me. This is for the best, you promised. Yet you still needed to kiss me one last time. Just once more, you said. But all of those walls you tried so hard to build up to protect me came crashing down. All of your word kept rushing into my head, but I could no longer tell which were true and which were fiction.  I was finally believing that this was for the better, that you wouldn’t be able to bruise this heart of mine much more, but then that kiss… the one you promised would be the last; some sort of bittersweet goodbye.

But it all turned bitter, for in that moment I realized this would never stop hurting. You drew me in to let me down, all the while you said you had all of my best intentions in mind… but all of my best intentions go hand in hand with your worst.

