I don’t know when I got to the point where I realized that life goes on without you. Was it when you kissed me goodbye at the airport? When I looked down on you from 10,000 feet in the air? Could it have been those many occasions when you never called like you said you would have? All that really matters is that I reached and passed that point, wherever it was.

I was a fool to your facade. Perhaps you really are a gentleman; perhaps you are a selfish son of a bitch. How foolish was I to even think that I knew who you were when in reality, to strive to be a man of mystery is all you do. Unsolved and soon to be forgotten.

I’m only writing these words down so some time in the future I can laugh at it all; at the man I thought I was in love with, but in the end meant not a damn thing.

I would say I wish you the best, but I don’t have a hope left for you.

