Time keeps going on so slow, I can barely remember a time when it passed at a decent, almost fast rate. The last time I was with you, I’m sure. Why is it that the good times fly by so fast? The times you want to savor and enjoy are over at the blink of an eye. Maybe it is because I am enjoying it that it comes and goes so fast, but that doesn’t make it any easier to accept. I sit here, almost a month since I’ve last seen you, yet it feels like years have passed. I want it back; I want it all back.

Time is supposed to heal all, that is what everyone keeps telling me. Sure, the memories of you have begun to feel so far away, but I can’t seem to let it all go completely. I’m grasping on our last moments together and maybe that is why time clock seems to always pass so slowly. I’m holding onto something that is long gone and the lack of your existence in my life has made the days almost unbearable.

I wish there were an easy solution to all of this; I wish I could just press fast-forward and wake up to the day where I don’t think of you anymore. I long to get to the day when time runs at a normal pace again; perhaps I won’t have something new to look forward to, but at least I won’t be dragged to the ground by my past.

So what do I do now? Where do I go from here? I have no choice in the matter; I can only go through the days the best I can. I look for distractions to busy my mind from the thought of you and all of the things we used to do. I’m floating in the middle of the ocean you’ve placed me in, hoping someday I’ll reach land.

Someday I will overcome all of this.
Someday I will reach land.

