image

Inadequacy. It is a word that was not part of my vocabulary until he came around. He was the most handsome man I had ever seen and the most selfish man I have ever known. I wish I would’ve been aware of his selfishness when we first met; I would’ve kept my distance. However, he knows how to charm with his cheesy smile and how to swoon with his easy, empty words. I would’ve been crazy not to have fall for him as hard as I did, but it doesn’t make me any less of a fool. It doesn’t make me feel less inadequate to know that it could’ve been any girl, but he chose me to be the victim this time.

I wish I could say that I have learned from all he has put me through; I wish I could say that through all of this heartbreak and deceit I learned who to stay away from and how to protect myself, but all I have learned is that not everyone sticks around. Not everyone means the words they say, even if they are looking you straight in the eye. Just because you would give someone the world doesn’t mean they would want you in theirs. He told me everything I wanted to hear, everything I thought I needed to hear, but in the end he left without a word.

 

