The look in your eye is telling me that it is time; the moment I have been dreading has finally crept up on us and its’ claws are latched onto my ankles, prepared to drag me away. One last kiss, one last embrace, and finally our fingers let go of each other as I am dragged into the great unknown. The image of you standing there behind the security at the airport is embedded into my brain. The way you waved and tried your best to smile and the emptiness that grew inside me with each passing second as I turned and walked away. There will be no one to greet me once I get to the new terminal after the flight. I will be in a brand new world, longing for the old one. The look in your eyes when we said goodbye told me that you didn’t want me to go, but you were never able to speak the words I needed to hear. So now I am gone.

 

