You’re sitting there, staring at me, but I don’t know what you’re expecting me to say. Perhaps a big “Fuck you,” or something like that. I could put my facade on and pretend that I care, but that takes far too much effort and energy than I have left tonight. So, you slept with someone else, you tell me. You’ve got those sad, puppy dog eyes on and I know you’re expecting something out of me. Jealousy, anger, resentment; well, you will find none of those here. Am I disappointed? Of course I am, honey. I never wanted to think that after all of those nights when I just didn’t care to have sex with you would lead you into the bed of another woman, but who am I to judge?

You think I will play the role of some heartbroken woman, but I won’t. We are animals, just like the rest of the world, so I can’t say I didn’t expect that you’d get your fix from someone else. No, I don’t want to know who she is. No, I don’t want to know how beautiful she is. No, I don’t want to know how good it was. I suppose the only thing that matters to me is whether or not any feelings grew for her. If I am still the woman that you see yourself with, the woman that you want to spend forever with, then welcome home. Take a shower, get into bed, and kiss me goodnight.

 

