The sun is beginning to rise and slowly my eyes creep open. There he is, laying next to me. I yearn to reach out and touch his scruff, but I am not sure if I want to wake him just yet. He looks so handsome, even while he sleeps. I wonder how such a thing is possible, but not too much because I don’t want to ruin the sense of mystery. Part of me still can’t believe that I lay here naked under the sheets alongside the man I have longed for quite a few months; a friend of a friend. I’m not always a shy woman, but if you saw his face, you would understand how even I could feel intimidated. I smile at myself, glad it finally happened; this intimate moment.

I need to get out of here before he wakes, though. There is no way he would regret what had gone on, let’s admit it; I am a beautiful woman and I know he’s been eyeing me for some time too. I just don’t want to be here when his eyes open up; I don’t want him to think that I want anything more than just a one night stand. I know that once I tell my friends what happened they will think I am crazy for not wanting more, but I think they are crazy for assuming I would. I am not foolish and young nor desperate and old. I do not desire to settle down; I don’t want a flaming romance which will only tear me apart in the end.

As I tip toe out of his room I take one last glance at him. Perhaps if it were five years from now, I would want to crawl back in there with him. They always say that nice guys finish last and I feel like they were specifically talking about being with me. He is the most handsome man I have ever met, he said all the right things, but that is it; I don’t want all the right things. I want all the bad, bad things that the world has to offer. As I walk down the street leaving his apartment I smile, thinking about the good lay I had last night. As I walk down the next street, I smile, thinking about the next.

 

