To those of you with children already, please know I am not saying anything to insult you. I follow some pretty beautiful mothers. But on we go…

Often times I will see a young mother and maybe a young father with her and I will feel this sense of pity for them. I do believe that every child is a blessing, but I do believe it is a shame that kids these days are having kids of their own so young. I am twenty-one years old and think it would be an unfortunate thing if I had a child anytime soon. Not because I am young and want to have fun, but because I am young and do not know who I really am yet.

Being a child of divorce, I know it is something I would not want to place on my own child. People can rush into love and stability at my age, but I don’t see what the rush with. Sure, there are moments when I think it would be so much easier if I just found a guy in the military and married him, but in the long run, would that really bring me happiness? Sure, I would be happy right now, but as I said, I don’t know who I am yet and committing to a marriage would be absurd. If you don’t know who you really are, how could you marry someone else? And why would you want to marry someone so young? My mother and father married when they were about 20/21 and my mom has always told me never to marry young.

As a teenager I thought I would love to get married in my early twenties and have lots and lots of babies. Now, I realize I would much rather wait until my late 20’s or early 30’s. I wouldn’t want to bring a child into the world with parents who haven’t been together for years prior, with parents who don’t know if they are really going to last. I will wait to have a baby until I find a man who I know will be around for good because my future baby deserves nothing less.

 

