I never really sat down and looked at what the health care bill would mean for everyone in the country. I know a lot of people are excited for it, and a few people who thing America has made a big mistake. At first thought- a national health care system seems awesome. To not have to worry if something happens to me… and trust me, I am a paranoid one with my health. School is always a stressful thing because I have to remain a full-time student to remain on my mother’s insurance. But after sitting in my American Government class and looking at a little piece of paper which laid out in simple details the plan… wow, wow, what have you done, America?

Let me say that there are a couple of points that I am grateful for. I am glad that there will be no lifetime limits on benefits. The most impressive part of the bill to me would be that there will be no more exclusions to healthcare. Before I had researched what would happen if you got sick without insurance, such as getting cancer, and read sad stories of being unable to be covered in such an event. As I said before, I am a very paranoid person after my experience with cancer, and a big worry for me has always been what happens if it comes back? What happens if it occurs at an unfortunate time when I am not a full time student? It would’ve been a nightmare, that’s for sure. I can’t imagine being put in the position of letting my family put themselves into a serious amount of debt, or letting my life go. Toughie!

Now on to my disappointment. “Health care is a right, not a privilege.” I hardly agree with that. Which might not make a sense, since I have a fear of not being insured… but what makes people think it is strictly the government’s responsibility to provide health care? This bill is going to end up costing tax payers so much and I don’t think many people realize that. People say they want lower taxes… well, good luck with that. My professor mentioned that government could’ve either chosen to offer the people a lower cost of health care… or figure out why health care was so expensive to begin with. What do you think would’ve been better? I honestly don’t think that health care is meant to be the cheapest thing. Yes, it sucks that you have to pay money to see a doctor, to get surgery, to keep on living. I know that you can be the healthiest person and still get sick; sometimes you cannot prevent it.

But to provide the machinery needed and the medication is just so expensive itself. How can we make that cheaper? Is the government even going to focus any of their energies on that? They shouldn’t just be giving the American people an easy way out and making everyone else pay for it. I would assume that there are some doctors out there who are ridiculously overpaid… but in my honest opinion, I believe that doctors, surgeons, and anyone in the health field does deserve to get good pay. To think of the time that they put in it, the dedication, and the fact that they are trying to get you well… you can’t exactly put a price tag on it. I remember looking at the bill for the surgery to remove my tumor and being so amazed at how much it was. I, luckily, was insured by my mother’s employment, but even with that we had to pay a good amount. I know my mother doesn’t regret having to pay for it. If I had to pay for it myself… I would’ve regret having to pay for it either.

Health care has been available for most people. There are companies which provide it for those who are self-employed. Yes, health care can be important. And it is a gamble to decide to not pay for it or to pay for it; there is no guarantee you will get sick or you will stay healthy. I know it sucks to get money taken out of your paycheck every month and have it go to your benefit plan, but why would people feel that to be unnecessary? I guess I just have no sympathy for the people who had no insurance because they didn’t want to find a full-time job, stay with a company long enough to get the benefits, or wait in line for Medicare.

So now we will have national health care, unless the Supreme Court declares it unconstitutional. To think that Canadians would come to the US to escape the long waiting periods in their country… where will we go now?

