The body image of women is a topic that will never end. I could start talking about it now… and it could end up to be many pages long. Since I have to head to bed soon, I will keep this very short, but I feel so woken up by the subject at the moment that I have to at least say a little something something!

Ladies on Tumblr have been passing this around, wanting to know where they place themselves. The far left is supposed to be skinny, the middle average, and the right curvy. In my opinion, I don’t see much of a difference between “skinny” and “average” and I believe that “curvy” looks the most average to me. It just seems crazy to me to see another female call the woman on the right “HUGE.” Nothing about her screams huge at all. She is not fat, she does not look overweight, so why would one call her huge?

I’m not going to say that I have never wanted to look like the girl on the left, because having no breasts sometimes seems like the luckier path… I mean, there are a lot cuter clothes a woman can wear when she doesn’t have breasts to worry about! But growing out of my teenage insecurities I have realized that I don’t have to be a size zero to be comfortable with my body and to love it. I don’t plan to be a runway model, so who cares if I look like one?

The perspective of what a woman should look like is just so horribly twisted nowadays. The easiest thing to do is point the finger at the media, because it does seem to try to tell us what we should look like. But it is also our own faults for letting society affect us in such a way that we believe anything we see on television and in the magazines.

A lovely video that I watched a couple times in school that really makes you think:

