Some people love you, some people hate you.

I can’t sit here and lie to those of you reading this and pretend I have never been one of those people who hated the thought of Valentine’s Day… but hey, don’t be so quick to judge me! I was an angry teenager, I had a lot of issues!

The holiday is named after one or more early Christian martyrs named Valentine and was established byPope Gelasius I in AD 496. It is traditionally a day on which lovers express their love for each other by presenting flowers, offeringconfectionery, and sending greeting cards (known as “valentines“). The holiday first became associated with romantic love in the circle ofGeoffrey Chaucer in the High Middle Ages, when the tradition of courtly love flourished. (Source)

A lot of people who don’t care for this holiday always say that it is a Hallmark holiday. It’s just a way for companies to make money. All those boyfriends who feel that they have to buy gifts for their precious girlfriends to make them happy. Sure, for some that is all Valentine’s Day means to them. And to those who don’t care for it because of that- that’s fine!

Then there are the ones who question why they have to show their love on a certain day, when they should be showing their love every day. Again, good point. I can’t put down anyone’s bad feelings for Valentine’s Day because there is (usually) always some reason that makes sense behind it.

I don’t know… Although this is a Valentine’s Day that I don’t find myself single, I am not all hyped up for it either. Perhaps it is because he is one of the ones who don’t buy in to the Hallmark holiday, hell, maybe I don’t either! I wouldn’t turn down a good box of sweethearts though.

If I look past those angry, lonely, high school Valentine’s Days… it was always a good time! I miss elementary school and having a little bag with your name on it and all of my classmates putting Valentines in it. It was a much simpler time, before I had crushes on boys. Not to mention for a long time my mother would always buy me a little gift on Valentine’s Day.

So that is how I choose to think of Valentine’s Day… it is not some serious, if-you-don’t-buy-me-something-we’re-over holiday, but a cute little holiday that we all enjoy at one point in our lives. Try not to spite those in love too much!

