Of my twenty years of life, I have spent nineteen living in the same city… Vallejo, California. I wonder to myself now, has it always been this bad? Has the youth just gotten worse with the years and I been naive enough to not open my eyes to notice it? I hate how I now dread living here and the fact that I will still be here for some time. I wish that when my mom had bought a house, she had gotten one outside of Vallejo, because I hate to think of my brother growing up here. I know that every city has its own problems, but hearing about a woman running an ice cream truck getting shot in front of a preschool and a man getting jumped by a bunch of kids from my former high school… it just makes me so sad. I have such optimism for the world, I need to go out there and try to spread it.

